How to: Data Mapping into NOTION Database "content"

First, I’ll admit, this is my first attempt at using make, so there may by some simple ignorance involved here, but…it seems like what I’m trying to do should be pretty straightforward.

Trying to push map the body of an email to the content of a new Notion database item.
The Notion “Create Database Item” app doesn’t seem to allow me to write to the “body/content” of the item - only to database fields. So my only mappable fields are “name”, “type”, and “status” which I’ve created in the database – no generic “content” field.
Help?

For the record, my full scenario is Custom Webhook (Email) → Markdown [of the HTML body] → Notion (Create Database Item).

Appreciate any help anyone might be able to lend!

Hi. You can try using the “Append to Rich Text” action in Notion to add the email body to the “content” field of the new database item. This will allow you to append the email body to an existing Rich Text field in the database. In order to do this, you’ll need to create a Rich Text field in your Notion database, then map the email body to that field in Make. Additionally, you can use “Create/Update” action instead of “Create Database Item” action which allows you to edit existing fields rather than only creating new fields.

If you need additional support, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

Cheers
//HFBR

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestions.

1. On quick read, I’m not seeing how to flag a text field specifically as “rich text” (I tried just a text field and markup wasn’t parsed. However, both that text field, and a “defined” rich text field appear to be limited to 2000 characters which is going to be limiting for me (this thread is already there).