Parsing custom HTML payload efficiently

Guys,
I have a webhook that sends html-nested-within-JSON payload that I’d like to parse, map and use downstream in an efficient way, meaning: as few operations as possible (since we’re running multiple 100k’s monthly)

I’m a Zapier veteran, but Make/Integromat newbie, so I haven’t quite figured out the right approach yet, so I’m looking for crowd wisdom!

I have initial payload like

{
"var":"<h4>this is some headline</h4><h4>with another headline</h4><p>And some content</p><p>and some more content</p>"
"var_as_markdown":"#### this is some headline \n\n#### with another headline\n\n And some content \n and some more content"
}  

Note that this is not fully-fledged, valid html (e.g. head, body etc), but only a subset. Additionally, I get the same payload in markdown, if this helps the case or opens up new solutions.

Now, I need those different html elements (h4’s, p’s) stored into some kind of variables so I can use them downstream - stitching together a Wordpress post, specifically. In Zapier, I’d have used a custom “Code” block that executes arbitray Python/JS code, but since I havent found an Make equivalent of this, I toyed around with…

• Text Parser “Match pattern”, using various regexp combinations → while this got me ahead somewhat, the parser output will be multiple “bundles” that seem to be processed in multiple operations, or I would need to create multiple modules doing the same thing for different variables, both of which doens’t seem very efficient
  • Text Parser “Get Elements from HTML”, but for some reason that is beyond me, this allows only for img, a and iframe elements to be selected. What’s up with that?
  • Tools “Set multiple Variables”, but I’m unable to cut the payload down to the elements/ contents I need.
  • I’m vaguely aware that there are custom functions available, but I haven’t mastered this yet.

As for the desired result, I’d like to be able to

• create a Wordpress module node