How to combine operations?

Hey all, I am fairly new to Make. It seems like a very powerful, but very, very complicated tool to learn. Especially as the documentation often tells you how to do something conceptually but with few meaningful examples.

I have a scenario that will work through an unknown number of Google Sheets, but only focus on the first column which will extract LinkedIn profile URLs. What I need to do is to combine all operations (i.e. 1 per Google Sheet) and combine all of that into 1 single list/array (still unsure of the correct Make terminology, but a normal array in standard python or javascript).

What seems to happen is that the operations can’t be aggregated with the array aggregator. See the screenshot below (that is my LinkedIn URL and it’s fine to be shown).

I’ve tried:

• Using a text aggregator to combine the operation arrays
  • Using map() to combine arrays with the col1 as the key to map
  • Composing as a string, then splitting them back out again.

They all seem to just produce duplicate operations which I am trying to avoid like the plague as that will just be waste.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Hi & welcome.

A few hints on finding your way around Make - looks like you have understood the basics of putting together a scenario so the next step is understanding the logic. I would recommend having a look through the Make youtube channel and also Maxvcollenburg. There is a tonne to be learned there.

OK, on to your specific query -

1. why are you not using the Google Sheets Module?
  2. Is the data required after the scenario has run? If so, have you considered using a “datastore”?
1 Like

Thank for your advice @IainM.

Regarding your questions: