Scenario Toolbar Descriptions

Hey Makers! :wave:

I’m Ella, and I work as a Product Documentation Manager at Make. My team and I are on a mission to make our tools, such as Flow Control, Tools, and Text Parser, more user-friendly. We have brainstormed new names and descriptions that could make it easier for you to understand and use them. But before finalizing any changes, we would like to hear from you! Do you think our options help clarify how the tools work?

Feel free to vote for your favorite options or share your own descriptions in the comments.

Iterator

• a. Splits a list of items (an array) into separate bundles that can be processed one by one.
  • b. Splits an array into separate bundles that can be processed one at a time.
  • c. Splits an array into separate bundles.
0 voters

Commit

• a. Stops the scenario and commits changes where possible. Next modules are not run.
  • b. Stops scenario and commits changes. Subsequent modules are not run.
0 voters

Increment Function > Bundle counter

• a. Counts bundles from the previous module. Increases the count by 1 with each scenario run.
  • b. Returns 1 after the very first run. Then increments value each execution. Resets count according to its configuration.
0 voters

Thank you so much for your help! :star2:

2 Likes

@EllaD – I’m not sure the Iterator descriptions are that great unfortunately.

A few notes:

Iterators can work not just arrays but also collections (surprisingly enough). They don’t split a collection of course unless you wrap it in a toArray() function in which case they become arrays.

Iterators must execute all subsequent modules the number of bundles generated.

So a better description could be

Converts an array into bundles and creates a loop processing each bundle as input to any subsequent module(s)

For commit, since it is an error handler it should be described as such. And the commit part is related to use of ACID/database apps like MySQL or the Data Store.