Search to See if a user is in a Klaviyo Segment

Using the Klaviyo module, I want to check to see if an email address is inside of a Segment. Usually on the Make modules, you can provide an email address and it will search for Profile ID or email…Then you can search, but for the Klaviyo module it seems the only way to search to see if a user is in a Segment is to use the List Profiles in a List or in a Segment module.

This way uses a lot of executions, because you have to literally search the entire Segment and search for the email address each time, rather than just searching directly.

Does anyone know a better way to search Klaviyo to see if an email address is in a specific segment?

I’m not a Klaviyo expert, but would the Check if Someone is in a Segment module do what you need?

1 Like

Hi @jmacman,

There are a few ways to do this, but the one that you are trying to use can be set up in a way that will cost just 2 operations if you want to go that route.

You can use, List Profiles in a List or in a Segment and add a array aggregator after the List module, with a filter in between to check if the email exists. This will make sure that it will cost 2 operations regardless of the number of results that you get from the List Module.

I need to thoroughly check how the API works with Klayvio, and I didn’t see a Make an API with it, but we could use Search Profile API endpoint which I believe can be used to search profile through an email address and the profile response seems to have all the list of Segments the profile is associated with.

1 Like

Ok, so if the Segment has 10k users in it, then youare saying that it will only cost me one or two operations to search through a segment? The other issue is that I will get a lot of timeouts when searching large Segments or lists.

I would rather do something like this: Check if Profiles Are in a Segment but it seems as if the JSON payload returns an error.