Auto Numbering Column in Monday to Reset Every Month

I am looking for the “value” formula to use in Make that will achieve the below items when a new item is created.

• Auto number starting at “1” but producing a 3 character number. “001”

• Need the numbering to start back at “1” on the first day of each month.

Hello @Elijah_Eisenmann and welcome to the Community!

You may need to use a Increment module.

Could you please share how you’re using this module in your scenario?

2 Likes

I am still a little new to Make, but I think this is what you are asking for. If not let me know.

Ok, so your scenario will run whenever an Item is created in a Specific board.
Then, it will get that Item, then update that item’s PO Test value?
Seems you’ll need to keep track of and increment a counter variable.

There are likely a few ways to go about this, but you could try this:

• Set up a Data Store with one value.
  • The key could be YYYY-MM and value could be the counter for that month.
  • At the beginning of the scenario, check the Data Store to see if there’s a value in YYYY-MM record. If not, start with number 1 for PO Test value. If so, add 1 to that number for the PO Test value.
  • After module #3, store the value used in PO Test in the Data Store. This way the scenario knows what number you used last.

When the scenario runs for the first time in a given month, that will cause it to create a new record in the Data Store, which will start a new counter at 1.

As for formatting your number to left-pad it with zeros up to 3 digits in length, again, multiple ways to do it. Here’s one way:

Basically take the number, divide it by 1000, format it using period as a decimal separator and nothing as the thousands separator, split it by the decimal, then take the last element of the resultant array which is everything after the decimal point.

Here’s the result using ‘4’ and ‘999’