Going Back a Step

Hi there,

I have a scenario that works well, and has a couple of routers on it, and various paths.

But after the first router I have added a new path which basically creates a new contact if there isn’t one.

But when it has created it, i would like it to go back to the first router perform it again and carry on - rather than me having to clone all those other paths.

Is this possible?

Thanks
Ian

Okay simply you have to do is
Modify your original scenario to accept contact data as input.
Use a Store Data module to store the created contacts ID details.
When calling the original scenario, pass this contact data as input.
Adjust your original scenario modules to use the passed data instead of recreating the contact.

3 Likes

Hi @Ian_Kerry,

@samliew recently described a good way to tackle this in another post if you want to check that out here.

Perhaps you could adapt for your case.

3 Likes

Hi tanish_1jain

I am not that experienced with make yet. so i found it hard to follow what you were saying.

i didnnt’ know how to get my scenario to accept “contact data” as input. what i did do though was to create a new venue in my sql so at least i had a venue to work with.

i couldn’t find a ‘store module’ either. i did search for one but no joy.

and i didn’t understand the rest of it i am afraid, but thank you for trying to help.

i originally wanted to know if there was a way of stepping back a step in a scenario.

as a work around i have just cloned all the other steps in my scenario, and added them to this branch of the scenario - but i would still like to know.
thanks

ian

Thanks @Donald_Mitchell i’ll check it out.

Hi @Donald_Mitchell

I think that I would need a bit more hand holding that the example that @samliew and yourself started. The Xero modules are slightly different. And I have never used the pink IGNORE command though i can see this could be very useful.