Retrieving values from deeply nested collections

Make noob here – moving over from Zapier. I am having trouble with highly nested collections where I want to retrieve data into a variable. I am using the Set Variable tool but not sure how to use the map or get formulas when needing to go down a few layers.

For example, I would like a variable called “Client Address” to have the value of “Value” under Field ID 4088061. And I would like a variable called “First Time” to have the value of “Value” under Field ID 5035053. The Field IDs are consistent across all records.

The formula I have tried is {{map(3.forms; “value”; “fieldID”; 5035053)}} and it returns empty.

TIA!

1 Like

This is much more complex than one appreciates. The forms array as collections inside so you’ll need to iterate the array first to extract in each collection the objects you want. Make a new array with these with an array aggregator and only then use the map() function on the new array you created with that values you need.

2 Likes

Oof. Hi Alex. It’s been a minute since you onboarded me with Make (what a great intro to the product). And while I’ve come a ways, I’m always finding things like this I didn’t know!

So I think this thread would explain why I’m not matching on email here:

The Email key is three levels down, so the following map function isn’t finding it, right?

I tried putting in an iterator and aggregator to get just the emails, but ran into a weird behavior I hadn’t seen where the iterator only returns the first bundle. Does it always do that if you map a sub-item instead of the top-level array?

As an aside, does the placement of the lower() functions look right to you, in terms of making both what the map() function returns and the filtering key be lowercase, so that if someone types their email with weird caps it will still match?