Webhook data not parsing automatically

Hi, I’m pretty new to Make, but I’m a little confused about how my webhook triggers are functioning. I’ve setup a number of scenarios to receive webhooks from another system, and then use that data to create a record in HighLevel.

When I first set these up and tested them, it seemed to automatically parse the json string, making the data mappable to fields in the HighLevel module (I had the json pass-through option turned off). Now when I try to run them I get an error that the required parameters are missing at the HighLevel module, and when I view the test data, it’s not showing the values for my previously mapped fields. If I try to re-map it from the test data, it just shows the single JSON string with all of the data together and unmappable. I’m not sure what happened, but I hadn’t changed the settings from my original test. I’ve tried changing the various advance settings at the webhook trigger, but it’s always the same.

The docs made it sound like the webhooks were supposed to parse automatically, which is what I experienced initially, but then it stopped doing this. Any pointers as to what I’m missing (probably something obvious), would be really appreciated. I’ve found a workaround if I add a JSON Parser module after the trigger, but I’d prefer not to have to go back in and reconfigure all of my scenarios with this.

Hello @dawntreader1 nice to meet you.

1. I am not sure how did you set the webhook, but maybe you enabled JSON pass-through which means that “If enabled, JSON payloads are returned as a string”, please check that here:
    Open Webhook->Press Edit button->Check the settings->JSON pass-through NO->Save

2. You can use a Parse JSON module after the Webhook and should work after that.

Don’t hesitate to contact us if you require further assistance.

//VLAD

2 Likes