Simple parser/regex question

I’m sure this is super-simple for someone that knows what they’re doing…but I’m not a programmer and am stumped.

All I want to do is extract values from an email sent in a consistent format. I have the email webhook setup, which works fine… and have tried lots of combos of using the parser module…but don’t know what i’m doing!

in the email, it contains the following text:
We are pleased to confirm that your order has now been shipped.

Our Reference: 12345678
Your Reference: 87654321
Carrier: DHL Express
Carrier’s Reference: 61142T01234567890

all i want to do is pull out the values in each line.

Anyone kind enough to help a newb??

2 Likes

Hey @Noah

Here’s the regex you will need: (?<=Our Reference: )(.*)(?=)|(?<=Your Reference: )(.*)(?=)|(?<=Carrier: )(.*)(?=)|(?<=Carrier’s Reference: )(.*)(?=)

It will create multiple bundles, use aggregator to combine into one.

4 Likes

Excellent expression! Let’s make it a little more flexible to allow white space between the label and the actual value, as well as look for digits only for the our reference and your reference assuming only digits are allowed there. You can use regex as a pattern matching service that will be flexible enough to catch even formatting issues if you want but smart not to capture stuff that appears invalid. Up to you.

(?<=Our Reference:)\s*(\d*)(?=)|(?<=Your Reference:)\s*(\d*)(?=)|(?<=Carrier:)\s*(.*)(?=)|(?<=Carrier’s Reference:)\s*(.*)(?=)

3 Likes

@Noah

This is fun!

How about one that doesn’t require an additional module? These are presented in a Set multiple variables module; but you could just use the expressions wherever you want the values:

Here are the expressions:
{{replace("X"; "/(?:.|\s)*Our Reference:\s*(\d*)(?:.|\s)*/"; "$1")}}
{{replace("X"; "/(?:.|\s)*Your Reference:\s*(\d*)(?:.|\s)*/"; "$1")}}
{{replace("X"; "/(?:.|\s)*Carrier:\s*(.*)(?:.|\s)*/"; "$1")}}
{{replace("X"; "/(?:.|\s)*Carrier.s Reference:\s*(.*)(?:.|\s)*/"; "$1")}}