Twitch to Telegram Scenario Help Needed - Telegram HTML Issue

I’m new to Make. I was previously using IFTTT with a custom Twitch & Telegram Messenger integration that would send a post to a Telegram group whenever my Twitch stream went live. It worked, but IFTTT has a 1 hour polling time which was frustrating.

A friend just told me about Make (and this article) to get better Twitch > Telegram live stream notifications.

I have the scenario working but I’m trying to figure out how I can insert certain stream details into the Text that gets sent to Telegram.

Right now I just have the “Channel Name” working but I want to be able to also send (from Twitch) the Title of my Stream (and, optionally, the Category (ie: current game streaming.))

Is that possible to do? This is what my Telegram config looks like:

Hi @tangles ,
I don’t have personal experience with this, but most likely you should be abel to retrieve tihs data with the “List Streams” module. When you add this module after the “watch streams”, the moment your stream becomes live it will also run this module and probably give you the right data.

3 Likes

You rock! Thank you so much for the help.

2 Likes

Bumping this again as I need a little more help with the formatting of the message sent to Telegram.

I was using Markdown for the parse type but I want to use HTML now. If I select HTML as the parse type in the Telegram module and configure the message according to the screenshot, The only thing I’m seeing in the message is the variables and the text, but nothing in HTML tags. What am I doing wrong?

You are already using HTML in there. For example your is a Link Tag. The semantic tagging is pretty similar.

If you cmd+c this into an online editor (https://html5-editor.net/) you can work with this and design the text easier. Make variables will be converted to e.g. {{3.Titel}}.

2 Likes