How to prevent Notion messaging Discord for each update of database-items

Hi,

im pretty new to Make and my goal is to push the data of items on two specific “Status” property changes in Notion to Discord via Discord Bot. Problem is, that my current setup pushes database items on every change (as its watching “by updated time”), not just on change to a specific status, which ends up spamming in Discord because its triggered many times by other changes. How can i approach this in my setup? I am currently

1. Watching database by updated time
    1. Filtering for the the desired statuses to only push the data of items with that status
    1. Sending a message to a discord channel, using some properties of the items mentioned above.

Thank you guys for any suggestions that point me in the right direction! Let me know if you need any further details. :slight_smile:

Hi,
I see your point - and one way you could achieve your desired outcome is to use a Data Store in Make, and compare the data between the updated Notion database item and the Data Store data for that item.

So, at a high level, the flow could look something like this:

1. [Notion] watch updated database items
  2. [filter for the desired status as you’re currently doing]
  3. [Data Store] Check if the data item ID from Notion already exists in the Data Store
  4. [Router]
    → [route A filter]: it doesn’t already exist
  5. [Discord] send message
  6. [Data Store create record] map the data from the Notion database item
    → [route B filter]: it exists in the Data Store AND the Status differs AND the Notion Status is one of your desired statuses
  7. [Discord] send message
  8. [Data store update record]
3 Likes

I will try this now - chances are that i am coming back here for follow up qestions. :wink: But thank you for the quick input!